刘 愈婷(Margaret Law)
新加坡执业律师
英格兰及威尔士律师
新加坡国际公证人
电话: +65 6835 7250
邮箱:
刘律师专司知识产权法,为各类型客户提供涉及知识产权保护和商业开发等相关问题的法律咨询服务。

刘律师在《世界商标评论》(《评论》)年刊全球最佳商标专业人士评选活动中被评为新加坡地区大力推荐的商标申请与战略保护专家。《评论》认为:“刘律师信誉卓越 并获得业内及客户的高度赞扬。”该年刊举行的调查显示她的客户,尤其是颇具发展前景的中小型企业,均非常欣赏其个性化的服务、紧密的跟进以及战略性的建 议。

专长:
近年来,刘律师致力于为企业提供知识产权相关的法律策略咨询服 务,即通过对知识产权的有效保护、管理以及利用从而促进企业发展。刘律师的客户多为新加坡政府机构支持的在新加坡本土或海外有商业扩展计划的杰出企业。

刘律师拥有新加坡知识产权局SCOPE IP项目的顾问资格。与此同时,她亦是新加坡标准、生产力与创新局下属的创新与能力优惠计划所认可的知识产权法律咨询项目顾问。作为一些有发展前景的本土 企业的法律顾问,刘律师会明确指出这些企业在知识产权投资组合中的优势和劣势,并且有针对性地提供法律建议,以便它们通过对知识产权的有效利用,实现企业 发展。

刘律师的客户涉及餐饮、娱乐、服务业、美容、教育、出版、音乐、艺术、零售、金融服务、制造业、家具、室内设计和信息技术等多个领域。

刘律师针对如何通过商标注册、专利注册、外观设计注册等方式保护知识产权的相关问题为客户提供法律咨询服务,尤其是如何从法律实践的角度为企业制定适合的 全球品牌保护策略,近而促使客户知识产权价值最大化。

刘律师亦为涉及知识产权的商业交易提供法律咨询服务。她曾代表特许人、被特许人促成了涉及不同行业的多个特许经营的成功案例。刘律师擅长起草多种商务合 同,如特许经营协议、许可协议、供应协议、分销协议、代理协议、研究与合作协议、联营协议以及信息技术协议等,并代表客户进行协商、洽谈。


学历:
刘律师于1995年毕业于新加坡国立大学法学系,获得法学学士学 位。1998年,她获得新加坡国立大学的法学硕士学位。刘律师于1996年获注为新加坡执业律师,并于2000 年获得英格兰及威尔士律师资格。

语言:
除英语外,刘律师能熟练地进行汉语阅读和写作,并能流利地运用普 通话进行交流。由于刘律师曾在香港居住和工作,她也能够使用粤语与客户洽谈业务。与此同时,刘律师还可运用日语进行日常对话。

行业协会注册:
刘律师是新加坡律师协会、新加坡法律学会、亚洲专利律师协会、国 际商标协会、欧盟商标协会以及许可贸易工作者协会的注册会员。

MARGARET LAW
Advocate & Solicitor (Singapore)
Solicitor (England & Wales)
Notary Public (Singapore)
T: +65 6835 7250
E:
argaret's expertise lies in the area of intellectual property law. She represents a wide range of clients and regularly advises on issues concerning the protection and commercial exploitation of intellectual property.

Identified by The World's Leading Trademark Professionals for consecutive years as a recommended expert in Singapore in trade mark prosecution and strategy, Margaret has been described as “highly skilled”, "multi-talented" and having "a reputation for excellence in prosecution and transactional work".

Research by the publication also reveals that her clients, "most notably promising small to medium-sized enterprises appreciate her highly personalised service, close attention and strategic direction".

Practice Focus:
In recent years, Margaret has been actively involved in advising companies on legal strategies to enhance business development through effective protection, management and of intellectual property. Many of the companies Margaret advises are outstanding Singapore companies with local or overseas expansion plans supported under grant schemes administered by Singapore governmental agencies.

Margaret is a certified consultant under the SCOPE IP program administered by the Intellectual Property Office of Singapore ("IPOS"). She is also on SPRING Singapore's panel of consultants for IP Legal Diagnostics program under the Innovation & Capability Voucher ("ICV") Scheme. As a legal consultant, Margaret advises promising local companies on the strengths and weaknesses of their intellectual property portfolio and makes legal recommendations that lead to effective use of intellectual property for the strategic growth of the companies.

Margaret represents clients from various industries including food & beverage, entertainment, hospitality, beauty, education, publishing, music, the arts, retail, financial services, manufacturing, furniture, hardware, interior design and information technology.

Margaret regularly advises clients on strategies for the protection of intellectual property through trade mark, patent and design registration. In particular, she is experienced in advising companies on their global brand protection strategies from a practical perspective which maximises the value of the clients' intellectual property.

Margaret's area of practice includes advising clients in commercial transactions which involve intellectual property. She has represented both franchisors and franchisees in many successful franchises in various industries. Margaret is also experienced in the drafting and negotiation of various commercial agreements such as franchise agreements, licence agreements, supply agreements, distribution agreements, agency agreements, research and collaboration agreements, joint development agreements and information technology agreements.


Qualifications:
Margaret received her Bachelor of Laws degree from the National University of Singapore in 1995. In 1998, she obtained a Master's degree from the same university. She was admitted as an Advocate & Solicitor in Singapore in 1996. In 2000, she was admitted as a Solicitor in England and Wales.

Languages:
Besides English, Margaret reads and writes Chinese and is able to communicate effectively in Mandarin. As she has lived and worked in Hong Kong, she is also able to conduct business in Cantonese with her Cantonese-speaking clients. In addition, she is able to speak conversational Japanese.

Professional Memberships:
Margaret is a member of The Law Society of Singapore, Singapore Academy of Law, Asian Patent Attorneys Association (APAA), International Trademark Association (INTA), European Communities Trade Marks Association (ECTA) and Licensing Executives Society.